Champion of Champions 2012

champion of champions 2012Codsall butcher Allan Bennett beat off strong competition from 29 other entries and scored an unprecedented hat trick as he brought home the Champion of Champions title for the third time, this year for his Bucks Fizz Celebration Sausage.

MTJ editor and judge Ed Bedington said: "This year's competition saw one of the highest number of entries in recent times, and the standard was uniformly superb throughout. Picking out our winner was not an easy task, but at the end of the day, Allan's class sausage stood out, and taking the champion of champion title for an unprecedented third time cements his reputation as one of the UK's finest sausage makers."

champion of champions 2012 Allan Bennett

The decision makes Allan, who has previously taken the Champions title in 2004 and 2009, the only butcher to win the competition three times.

Commenting on the win, Allan said: "I feel absolutely fantastic. The first time yes, the second time great, but the third time, unbelievable, absolutely unbelievable. I am very very pleased to have won the trophy. I have dreamt of it all night, I knew I was going to win it with the Bucks Fizz, but the dream has come true."

The 2012 competition was open to anyone who had won the overall title in any recognised sausage competition or evaluation between 1st July 2011 and 30th June 2012.

Champion of Champions 2012 finalists
 Competitor Name  Company Name
 Allan Bennett  Allan Bennett
 Andrew Rook  J.C.Rook & Sons
 Charles Clewlow  H. Clewlow Butchers
 Clinton Rudd  Denshams Butchers
 Craig Finch  Craig Finch
 Daniel Wilkinson  Wilkinson Butchers
 Eileen Wolfe  Brookfield Farm Butchery
 George McCartney  McCartney's of Moira
 John Brereton  Ludlow Food Centre
 John Laking  Lakings of Louth
 Kimberley Daniels  Artingstalls Family Butchers
 Mark Duckworth  Dales Traditional Butchers
 Martin John Martindale  Greenfield Pork Products
 Michael Kennedy  F .R. Kennedy & Son
 Paul Buttling  T Buttling Butchers
 Paul Clark  George H. Pickings
 Paul Flintoft  Paul Flintoft Traditional Family Butchers
 Paul Turner  A Turner and Sons
 Rebecca Pepperell  Pepperell's Meats
 Simon Haigh  Bolster Moor Farm Shop
 Stephen Robinson  Robinsons Butchers and Delicatessen


>> Back to Champion of Champions home page

Sponsored by:

 bpex   Lucas Ingredients