Trade welcomes latest crop of qualified staff

The latest batch of meat and poultry workers to gain industry qualifications have been recognised by the Meat Training Council (MTC) at its annual prize giving ceremony at Butchers Hall in London.

Twenty one awards were presented to industry workers from all over Britain who completed a range of qualifications headed by the MTC.

Gwyndaf Qwen Williams, a research and development officer and NVQ assessor at the Food and Technology Centre in North Wales, was presented with the Meat Trades Journal Awards for S/NVQ level three Meat and Poultry Processing. Mr Williams has been teaching at the Centre for three years amd has worked in the meat industry for 14 years. "I'm very happy. Although there was lots of work involved in the course and I may have found it challenging, it was very worthwhile."

Chief Executive of the MTC, David Grailey, said the ceremony was a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the industry workers' qualifications and achievements. Christopher Hallsworth, who won the WC Butcher's perpetual trophy last year, added the The Worshipful Company of Marketors for meat and poultry assignment to his list of successes.


Nigel Burfoot - Meat and Livestock Commission award

Mark Hughes - The Worshipful Company of Poulters Award

Stephan Brown - RAPS (UK) Award

Brown Brothers - The Worshipful Company of poulters Awards

Gwyndaf Owen Williams - The Meat Trades Journal Award

Rachel Fretwell - British Poultry Council Awards

David Sheppard - The Paul Edkins Memorial Cup

Robert Creasey - Quality Meat Scotland Award for Outstanding Candidate of the Ear (Scotland)

Arfon Dwyfor Training - The Fred Mallion Cup

Lee Bell - Orient Gold Award

Ryan Martin - The Kenneth Jenkins Cup

Christopher Hallsworth - The Worshipful Company of Marketors Award

Paul Crozier - Danish Bacon and Meat Council Award

Leeds Thomas Danby - The Worshipful Company of Butchers Award

Lee Mann - Towers Thompson limited award

Keith Rutherford - The Worshipful Company of butchers Perpetual Cup

Roma Ankers - NFMFT award

Michael Pratley - Oakfields (Foods) Trophey

Telford College - Improve Award - food, drink centre of the year

Sean Unsworth - Bernard Matthews Award