Shadow board appointed

The board members of the new Shadow Sector Company for English beef and lamb have been announced.

Shadow English Beef and Lamb Sector Company chairman John Cross said: "I am delighted to welcome our new 14 shadow board members, who take up their new roles on 1 April 2008.

"The appointments process was independent and rigorous, with excellent candidates. As a result, the new Shadow Sector Company Board has the right mix of skills and experience to build on the work of the current EBLEX Board in shaping a sustainable future for the beef and sheep sector in England."

The board members are:

Jonathan Barber

Malcolm Corbett

James Fanshawe

David Fleetwood

John Hoskin

Peter Kingwill

Alistair Mackintosh

Frank Momber

Robert Pickard

Mike Powley

David Raine

Kevin Swoffer

Simon Warren

Ryan Williams

Under the levy board review process, from 1 April, 2008 a single levy board will come into effect, replacing the existing six agricultural levy boards - including the Meat & Livestock Commission.

The new levy board will have six subsidiary companies covering English Beef and Lamb, English Pigs, Cereals and Oilseeds, Horticulture, Potatoes and Milk.

The tenure of current English Beef and Lamb Executive (EBLEX) board members ends on 31 March 2008.