Three new members join AHDB board
Published:  10 October, 2014

The Agriculture & Horticulture Board (AHDB) has appointed three new board members.

Professor Ian Crute has been appointed as an independent, with science expertise, to help inform the Board’s decisions on research and knowledge exchange. Crute who has been AHDB’s chief scientist for five years will replace Lorraine Clinton as independent.

Crute said: “After five fulfilling years as AHDB’s chief scientist, I am more convinced than ever that the functions the levy board undertakes are an essential contribution to ensuring we have an innovative and competitive food and farming industry in the UK. I am looking forward enormously to continuing my involvement with AHDB in this new role.”

Meanwhile, Gwyn Jones, previous National Farmers’ Union Dairy Board chairman, and Gary Taylor, founder and current chairman of the Pepper Technology Group (PTG) and chairman of the Lee Valley Growers Association (LVGA) have both been appointed to the board’s DairyCo sector board.

AHDB chairman Peter Kendall said: “I’m delighted to welcome these three to the AHDB Board – they are each experts in their field and also share my passion for our farming and food industry.

“I look forward to working with them on how AHDB provides farmers and growers with the tools to make the most of growing domestic and global demand.”