Finalists announced for Premier Young Butcher competition
Published:  21 March, 2016

Eight of the best young butchers in the land will battle it out at the Foodex event in Birmingham next month to decide the title of Premier Young Butcher 2016.

Last year’s winner was Lucy Crawshaw, who has since gone on to train in The Netherlands to learn from the best in the world.

The finalists are:

  • Erin Conry, Fallenich Farm Shop, Stirling
  • James Gracey, Quayles Fine Foods, Dromore, Co Antrim
  • Dylan Gillespie, Clogher Valley Meats, Co Tyrone
  • James Henshaw, Taylors Farm Shop, Lathom, Lancashire
  • Stuart Rankin, Fallenich Farm Shop, Stirling
  • Harry Smith, Aubrey Allen, Leamington Spa
  • James Taylor, Simpsons Butchers, Heckington, Norfolk
  • Elsie Yardley, Priors Hall Farm, Essex

The Premier Young Butcher Competition 2016 organised by the National Federation of Meat and Food Traders is being hosted by William Reed Media and sponsored by AHDB Beef & Lamb, AHDB Pork, Cambrian Training, Institute of Meat, RAPS UK, Scotch Butchers Club, Weddel Swift and the Worshipful Company of Butchers.

For more on the event, click here.